top of page
Home: Blog2
Search

Digital Art Bio, or About Me

Updated: Jan 21, 2020


I'm Nick Auer. I'm a computer science student from Denver, and I wouldn't call myself an artist. I have done some artwork, but I don't see it as a big part of who I am. On the other hand, creating in general is very important to me. I get urges to create often, and usually act on them. I have a folder in my Google Drive called "Nick's Well-Intentioned Creative Endeavors," filled with creative projects that I've tried and abandoned.




Some of the digital art I've done has been tied into my studies in computer science. In one project I wrote a program to generate geological landscapes, viewed from above. The program does it procedurally, so while I didn't draw or paint a single pixel, I still designed the outcomes.







Other projects have been tied into my hobbies. I've created maps for tabletop games,

and done other things just for fun.









I don't think I have many specific inspirations - a little bit of every piece of art I've ever seen goes into my ideas and goals, and the real determiner of how things end up looking is my far-from-impressive skill barrier. I'm usually happy if I can get to 60% of what I'm imagining, and I'm thrilled to get above 80%. I think that that's true for everyone, to some extent.

As much as I believe in saying something with art, my projects are for me, not for others. I do them out of my own desire to make things, and usually there is no deeper meaning.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page